If you aren’t up to Season 4 of Breaking Bad, please, do not read this blog, it will just ruin it for you and trust me, you seriously won’t want that. It is getting better and better and it is just not worth it. Either wait it out for the box set or watch them on http://www.tvduck.com/Breaking-Bad.html
I am getting dangerously obsessed with this show, Breaking Bad, yes; I’ve been obsessed with other shows before but not on this level, not when the show, itself, has yet to find its final conclusion. Every time I’ve gotten into a shows in the past, the show has already been aired in its entirety. The Sopranos, The West Wing, The Wire, I was a late bloomer on all these shows. Breaking Bad is the first show where I’ve been watching episode to episode as they have been released and it is fucking exciting shit. Season 4, Episode 6 is being aired in the states on Sunday and you can bet your bottom dollar, I will be on my computer on Monday afternoon tuning into to see that shit.
I remember the first time hearing about it, I had just finished up with The Wire, I was in the depths of chatter with a group who were just as into it as I was and, fucking hell, we were philosophising like motherfuckers. Who was our favourite character? What was our favourite storyline? Our favourite season? Our favourite moments? Quoting until we were blue in the face. Then we started onto other shows that were out there, I began waxing lyrical about The West Wing and others in group were doing the same about other show but one caught my attention. My mate, Paddy Canada, brought up one that he had seen a few months back. It was about a chemistry teacher who was diagnosed with lung cancer and in order to finance his treatment, he cooks up the best crystal-meth the world has ever seen. We all immediately pricked up our ears and we were all sold on it. From that day on, I have been watching Breaking Bad, watching intensively. It is a truly amazing show.
Myself and my brother, Max got onto the show the other day, philosophising as you do, and Max went somewhere with the show that I haven’t been able to get out of my head since. Our two main characters are Walt & Hank, they are our two main characters without a shadow of a doubt, the two alpha-males. Our main lead, Walt, his storyline takes us into the underworld, the more dark side of society and then there is our other lead, Hank, the DEA agent, the flaming touch of hope in the show, he shows the more brighter good side of the show, they are two very different storylines that so happen to be linked. It’s funny, Hank & Walter, look at their relationship. Yes, they know each other, yes, they are nearly best friends but they’re not really. The only real interaction these two characters have is at these family dinners and all they really do is just talk shite to each other, as brother-in-laws do. Although these two are friends, the funny thing is, they couldn’t be more different, their personalities are polar opposites. Like, the fact that Walter cooks meth and Hank brews beer, I think that has a huge significance, it shows how different they are. They are completely different, opposites. This brings me back to my brothers point, if you are a fan of comics, old school comics like Hulk, Spider-Man, Batman, Captain America, X-Men, you’ll know that most of the super villains and superheroes knew each other before they became their alter egos, they were sometimes even friends i.e. Dr X & Magneto in X-Men. Our idea was coming clearer to us as we went with it a little further, this was actually where the show was going, that Walt was becoming a super villain and Hank was becoming a super hero, not in the traditional sense where they would both wear funny costumes and have superpowers. Just the same concept of a super villain and a superhero but in a more realistic narrative. Lets look at how the characters appearances have changed throughout the show, Walt is slowly starting to look like a traditional mad scientist with the bald head and the kind of Ming the Merciless beard. He has even got a massive laboratory and a wacky unhinged sidekick who gets in trouble the whole time. Then you have the purity of Hank, the DEA agent, the hero. Hank, at the start of the first season, comes across quite idiotic and macho but as time goes on, you realise, he is good, pure and simple. If you look at Hank physically, he looks like the All American hero, Captain America. He has that attitude that is embedded into every American, that clean living, ‘You can do anything!’ attitude. Another little thing that I have noticed in the more recant episodes where Hank is in the bed recovering, his new hobbie is minerals, what the fuck is that about? My spidey senses are giving off a Kryptonite buzz there. It’s a theory that I have enjoyed bashing around in my noggin for the last couple of weeks and I hope to continue from now on.
Another character I want to talk about briefly is a character who has been there from the start but has done very little up to now, Walter Jr AKA Flynn. I have a theory that he is the same kind of ilk as Hank. A pure character that is waiting for a storyline to centre itself around him. He is getting to that age where drugs might just enter into his life, imagine if Flynn gets onto the blue meth, that will be the ultimate guilt for Walter Sr., this storyline has to happen. This moves me onto another theory I have about show, the show is about ‘cause and effect’. Everything that has happened in the show has been as a result of Walters choices, Walter is responsible for everything that has happened in one way or another. If he had of saved Jane when she was overdosing, her dad would not have sent those two planes into each other, he is directly linked to all those passengers deaths on the planes. If Walter hadn’t decided to start cooking meth everyone who has died on the show would be still alive today, Crazy 8 and his brother, Chongo, the little kid who shot Chongo, Jane, the list is quite large if you thing about it and Walter is aware of them all. It made me wonder why Walter meets Jane’s Dad in the bar that night of her overdose, why did the writer put that in there? It was to make sure Walter was aware that he had a hand in the death of all those passengers. If he hadn’t met Jane’s Dad, he would have never known.
The show itself is blowing my mind and it is up there with the best of them. Not only should it be getting Emmey’s but it should be getting the Nobel Prize for Literature. It is sheer quality and anyone who fancies their hand at writing, you have to take a lesson from this show and realise where the bar has been raised to.